Home Breadcrumb Separator Image Turkish Breadcrumb Separator Image About AÜ TÖMER


Ankara Üniversitesi

Ankara Üniversitesi is the first higher education institution of the Republic of Turkey. The mission of Ankara Üniversitesi is to educate individuals to be pioneers in their relative fields. The University is composed of eighteen faculties, a state conservatory, eleven vocational schools, and one college.

In 2017, Ankara Üniversitesi was chosen as one of the ten research universities in Turkey. With an academic staff of more than 4,000 faculty members and 4076 administrative employees, the University offered undergraduate and graduate degrees to over 40,000 students within the 2017 academic year.

TÖMER - Turkish and Foreign Languages Teaching and Research Centre

TÖMER, Turkish and Foreign Languages Teaching and Research Centre was first founded as the “Turkish Language Teaching Centre (Türkçe Öğretim Merkezi)” in 1984, aiming to teach Turkish to foreign students all around the world. TÖMER is the first institution to teach and test Turkish as a foreign language in Turkey. It later gradually expanded its focus to include the teaching of languages such as English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Arabic, Persian, Russian, Chinese, Korean, and Bulgarian, as well as courses offered in Ottoman Turkish. The work done in the field of language teaching, the variety of language courses offered at the Centre and the EU projects which it has completed as a Coordinating Institution have established TÖMER as the leading institution in this field. The Centre continues to work towards its mission through its several branches all over Turkey, cooperation with other leading institutions across the world, and taking part in EU projects.